Palawan Express Marathon 2018, Successful with 1,500 runners!

One thousand five hundred marathon enthusiast, including foreign runners joined Palawan Express Marathon on June 17, 2018 which for its 3rd year was held as part of the celebration of Baragatan Festival, Palawan’s most anticipated festival in commemoration of the province’s civil founding anniversary.

A hundred 42K runners started the marathon at 1:00 AM gun time followed by 150 runners each for 21K and 10K race categories. Around 501 joiners were registered under 5K and 591 for the 3K run, with total of 1,492 participants.

Similar to the previous year, prizes were given to top three finishers of 42K under All Filipino and All Nations categories where again, Kenyan runners swept the top finishes for the latter. Mr. Kering Eliud, 33, finished the route with official time of 2:43:01. He was closely followed by Mr. Joseph Mururi, 35, with 2:43:33 time. And third on place was Mr. Jackson Chirchir, 30, who finished the run at 2:50:50.

After the run, participants gathered for an hour of Zumba session, raffle draw and awarding ceremony. Cash prizes and medals were given to the top three finishers of 42K and 21K categories, while medals and certificates were awarded to the top three finishers in the 10K, 5k, and 3K runs. Special awards were also given to Ernesto Ledesma, 78, and to Vlademiere Cervantes, 2, for being the oldest and youngest runner respectively.

Among the biggest delegation of this year’s marathon were from Palawan Runners, Palawan National School, Palawan Council for Sustainable Development (PCSD), and Philippine National Police-Maritime Group.

Palawan Express Marathon was made possible in partnership with, LeadPack, RCBC Telemoney, Transfast, XpressMoney, MoneyGram, Ford-Palawan, CBPP, PCSD, Trinity, and ALC Printing House for the benefit of Palawan Young Sustainable Environment Advocates (PYSEA) for their project: Ridge-to-Reef Clean-up: Protecting Our Seas and Mountains through Environmental Diving/Hiking and Awareness.

Below are the complete list of winners for each categories: